• Colour & Architecture
  • Tiled roof in Provence
  • Stone Wall
  • Concrete like wood
  • Wood for facade
  • Time gone-by patina
  • Time gone-by patina
  • Time gone-by patina
  • Stone Wall

Colour & architecture

Whether it is about modern architecture where colour in today’s environment results from the use and respect of materials that have been selected for their intrinsic chromatic qualities (glass, concrete, brick, wood, metal…), or whether it concerns ancient, historic or even heritage architecture, l’Atelier 3D couleur intervenes to compliment the work of the designated architects. It is in this framework of a pluri-disciplinary team that its work flourishes and colour comes into its own as an authentic added value, creator of atmosphere, source of pleasure and well-being. In the same way and at the same time we are attentive towards and respond to the criteria of the French sustainable development standard: “High Environmental Quality” that is concerned with renewable energy, landscaping, lighting and recycling, confirming our environment-friendly commitment.

1. The legacy of historic colour

The legacy of historic colour

To rediscover the original, ‘historic’ colour of a building, of a district or of a town is dreamt of and sought after by many. The need for historical reassurance and proof taking us back to our origins has become increasingly popular, the nostalgia of a golden age and our quest for authenticity. But do you reintroduce colour into a town when it has long since disappeared? How is it possible to find the original colours as they once were ? To do this, the first question is: as it was before, but when?! What period of reference ? How far back can one go? L’Atelier 3D couleur has developed a typological think tank concerning architecture, favouring the colour palettes according to the date of the construction.

2. The historic colours of the town Saint-Germain-en-Laye : conservation area

The historic colours of the town Saint-Germain-en-Laye : conservation area

In 1982 Saint-Germain-en-Laye initiated a campaign to restore the facades in the conservation area of its ancient Royal town and to return them to their original, historic colours. L’Atelier 3D kept as closely as possible to the refined polychromy of the XVII and XVIII centuries that were revealed by in situ sampling : gentle warm and cool contrasts, harmonies of subtle greys, yellow-ochre rendering and blue-tinged greys of the woodwork of the period. The patina acquired with the passage of time also played a role in dictating the restrained colour scheme used in the classic architecture surrounding the castle, by using mineral based paints, natural pigments and ochres, and by contrasting them with the calmness, narrowness and the apparent darkness of the streets of the period, as shown in the classic urban plan. A stroll around Saint-Germain-en-Laye today will immediately convince you of the merits of the initiatives taken.

3. The historic colours of the town Nîmes : the old quarters

The historic colours of the town Nîmes : the old quarters

The perfect coherence of the urban landscape which can be seen today within the ancient fortifications of the town constitutes one of the most remarkable examples of elegance and high quality to be found in France. The old town of Nîmes is a veritable conservatory of what architecture has done best throughout the centuries.  Since the end of the 1980s under the initiative of Jean Bousquet the town of Nîmes has been restoring its ancient quarters to their former outward appearance with its perfect mix of gentle colours bringing about an authentic renewal of its heritage. In the long term Jean Bousquet’s project has fulfilled its mission in restoring the face of the old town to its warm southern self that it had tended, over the years, to lose touch with.

4. The historic colours of the ancient town centre of Joigny : conservation area

The historic colours of the ancient town centre of Joigny : conservation area

The river Yonne  flows through the town of Joigny adding charm to its quayside and terraced houses. Joigny is privileged in possessing a dense and perfectly contained urban centre rich in historic buildings. The 280 listed half-timbered buildings, houses and outbuildings date back, in most cases, to the 16th century and the sheer density of the town’s heritage makes it the most important in Burgundy. These houses belong to the period of reconstruction and restoration work of the town centre carried out following the great fire of July 1530 that devastated the old fortified village.
The ancient district is exemplified by remarkable half-timbered houses situated around the château of Gondi and the church of Saint-Thibault and surrounded by an ancient wall that clearly limits the area concerned by the development project.  

5. The historic colours of the town Châlons-en-Champagne : place de la Mairie

The historic colours of the town Châlons-en-Champagne : place de la Mairie

Ancient Place of Arms, then Royal Place and finally Maréchal Foch Place, the Place de la Mairie is the ancient place of honour that was designed to a classic layout. Erected on the site of a Renaissance building between 1772 and 1776 by the architect Nicolas Durand, the project was financed by the King, which is to emphasise the importance of the care taken during its construction. Today, both the facades and roofs are listed features and registered in the Inventory of Historic Buildings. The geometric, almost military plan of the square, is ornamented by four stone lions, which had already delighted Victor Hugo when he was a visitor to the town in 1838. In1995 L’Atelier 3D couleur was given the assignment to uncover the original colours of this outstanding ensemble of classic urbanism, and to enhance the sense of rhythm of the facades' outward appearance as designed by Durand in 1768 with a view to restoring the cohesion of a building that had been severely mistreated.
Likewise in another nearby square in the town a covered market of Eiffel style architecture was renovated and its 19th century smart and elegant colours were restored.

6. The historic colours of the town of Limoges : patrimonial palettes

The historic colours of the town of Limoges : patrimonial palettes

In 2007, the redefinition of the Z.P.P.A.U.P. (Zone for the Protection of Architectural, Urban, and Landscape Heritage) of Limoges made it easier to follow the town’s historic evolution. Henceforward the quality of the urban spaces and areas will be thought through as a whole including the colour palettes  and choice of materials determined by type, period and architectural style , as well as overall consideration of the quality of the urban areas. L’Atelier 3D couleur has contributed its expertise and know-how to the creation of colour palettes according to architectural typology.
The major construction periods and styles of the town : the   half-timbered buildings in fashion from the  XVI to the  XVIII century, neo-classical architecture with it's wooden structures, the rural architecture of the Limoges region, the Belle Epoque architecture built of granite or limestone. Art Déco architecture, 1930 pavillons in blue granite, the post war modernism following the Second World War, the architecture of the Fifties and beyond and the present contemporary trends forming the future face of the town.  

Go Top

• Couleur & Architecture
  • Couleurs de toits
  • Couleurs de murs
  • Viviers-en-Vivarais
  • Châlons-en-Champagne
  • Couleurs de patines
  • Couleurs d'enduits
  • Couleurs du temps
  • Couleurs de pierres
  • Saint-Germain-en-Laye
  • Saint-Germain-en-Laye
  • Saint-Germain-en-Laye
  • Saint-Germain-en-Laye

Couleur & architecture

Les grands enjeux de la couleur en architecture se dosent selon des curseurs de visibilité et se mesurent entre intégration et contraste de la construction par rapport au paysage et à son environnement immédiat. Qu’il s’agisse d’architecture ancienne, historique, voire patrimoniale ou qu’il s’agisse d’architecture contemporaine où la couleur est aujourd’hui induite par l’usage et le respect des matériaux mis en valeur pour leurs qualités chromatiques intrinsèques (verre, béton, brique, bois, métal, terre cuite…), A3DC intervient en complément du travail des architectes missionnés. C’est dans le cadre d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire que son travail s’épanouit, lorsque la couleur intervient comme une véritable valeur ajoutée, créatrice d’ambiance, d’agrément et de bien-être, vecteur de personnalité et de caractère. La couleur est un atout au même titre que l’attention désormais portée à la haute qualité environnementale, les énergies renouvelables, le paysagisme, l’éclairage, le recyclage et les prises de positions écologiques de plus en plus affirmées en faveur d'un mieux construire.

1. Le travail sensible de la couleur historique dans la ville

Retrouver la couleur historique d’un bâtiment, d’un quartier, d’une ville… est aujourd’hui une chimère assez répandue et communément recherchée. Besoin d’historicisme, retour aux sources, nostalgie d’un âge d’or, la recherche d’authenticité gagne du terrain. Mais comment recolorer un centre ancien comme la ville l’a été à un moment, alors qu’elle ne l’est plus ? Comment retrouver les couleurs d’origine, comme avant ? Car la première question à se poser est : comme avant, mais quand ?! Quelle est l’époque de référence ? A quand remonter ? A3DC développe alors une réflexion typologique selon les architectures, en privilégiant des palettes de couleurs selon les époques de construction des bâtiments eux-mêmes. Et toujours en privilégiant des recommandations de solutions traditionnelles : enduits à la chaux, peintures écologiques minérales, pigments naturels et terres colorantes, ocres...

2. Les couleurs historiques du quartier sauvegardé de Saint-Germain-en-Laye

Les couleurs historiques du quartier sauvegardé de Saint-Germain-en-Laye

Lors d’une campagne de ravalement initiée à Saint-Germain-en-Laye dès 1982, afin de redonner aux quartiers historiques du secteur protégé la coloration qu’a connue l’ancienne ville royale, A3DC s’est rapproché de la polychromie raffinée des XVII et XVIIIe siècles constatée in situ : contrastes chaud/froid très doux, harmonie de gris et de tons pierre subtils, enduits ocrés chauds et gris bleuté des menuiseries de l’époque. La patine du temps ayant également joué son rôle, elle a dicté pour l’architecture classique aux abords du château, un schéma directeur de couleurs atténuées, utilisant des peintures minérales, des pigments naturels et des ocres, en jouant de contrastes d’autant plus calmes que les rues, selon le plan d’urbanisme classique, sont étroites et peuvent sembler manquer de lumière. Une balade dans le Saint-Germain-en-Laye d’aujourd’hui convainc immédiatement du bien-fondé d'une démarche initiée très tôt et qui a fait des émules…

3. Les couleurs historiques des vieux quartiers de la ville de Nîmes

Les couleurs historiques des vieux quartiers de la ville de Nîmes

La parfaite cohérence du paysage urbain que révèlent aujourd’hui les quartiers enserrés dans l’ancienne fortification de la ville constitue l’un des modèles d’élégance et de qualité parmi les plus remarquables en France. Véritable conservatoire de ce que l’architecture au cours des siècles a laissé de plus réussi et de plus remarquable, le vieux Nîmes se prête depuis la fin des années 80 à une coloration douce et savante, pour une véritable renaissance de la ville ancienne et une réhabilitation de son patrimoine. Jean Bousquet avait alors initié ainsi le projet pour la ville : restituer à ses quartiers les coloris et leur aspect d’autrefois. La mission fut de redonner –œuvre à long terme- le visage chaleureux et méridional que la ville avait eu tendance à perdre au fil des années et d’une pernicieuse dérive de sa cohérence chromatique.

4. Les couleurs historiques du secteur sauvegardé du centre ancien de Joigny

Les couleurs historiques du secteur sauvegardé du centre ancien de Joigny

Baignée par l’Yonne qui donne à la ville le charme de ses quais et de ses maisons alignées, Joigny a la chance de posséder un centre urbain resserré, dense et parfaitement circonscrit, riche d’un patrimoine bâti historique et homogène. Les 280 bâtiments, maisons ou dépendances de logis à pans de bois recensées remontent au XVIe siècle pour la plupart. Le patrimoine de la ville est le plus riche de Bourgogne par sa densité. Ces maisons appartiennent à la grande période de reconstruction du centre de ville, suite à l’incendie de juillet 1530 qui ravagea le castrum. Le quartier ancien s’y illustre par de remarquables maisons à pans de bois, organisées autour du château des Gondi et de l’église Saint-Thibault, à l’intérieur d’un ancien mur d’enceinte qui délimite clairement le territoire concerné par le projet de valorisation.

5. Les couleurs historiques du coeur de ville ancien de Châlons-en-Champagne

Les couleurs historiques du coeur de ville ancien de Châlons-en-Champagne

Ancienne place d’Armes, puis place Royale, finalement place du Maréchal Foch, la place de la Mairie est l’ancienne place d’honneur d’ordonnance classique, construite en 1772-1776 par l’architecte Nicolas Durand, sur l’emplacement d’un bâtiment Renaissance. Sa construction fut financée par le Roi, c’est dire l’importance du soin qui fut apporté à son édification. Aujourd’hui, façades et toitures sont classées à l’Inventaire des Monuments Historiques. La place, d’un beau plan géométrique presque militaire, est ornée de quatre lions de pierre qui, déjà, ravirent Victor Hugo lors de son passage dans la ville en 1838. A3DC eut pour mission, à partir de 1995, de retrouver les couleurs d’origine de cet ensemble remarquable d’urbanisme classique, et de mettre en valeur le rythme des façades conçu en 1768 par Durand, afin de restaurer la cohésion d’un bâti malmené par le temps. De même, sur une autre place de la ville, peu éloignée, la rénovation d’une halle de marché couvert, de type Eiffel, retrouvait sa coloration pimpante du XIXe siècle…

6. Les couleurs historiques de la ville de Limoges et les palettes patrimoniales

Les couleurs historiques de la ville de Limoges et les palettes patrimoniales

En 2007, la révision de la définition de la Z.P.P.A.U.P. de Limoges a rendu plus lisible l’évolution historique de la ville. Chaque type, époque, style architectural suppose désormais des palettes de couleurs et de matériaux spécifiques, ainsi qu’une réflexion globale sur la qualité des espaces urbains. A3DC a apporté à la ville son expertise pour la création de palettes par typologies d’architecture, selon les différents styles et époques de construction majeurs de la ville : architecture à pans de bois du XVIe au XVIIIe siècle, architecture néo-classique, avec structures en bois recouvert, architecture vernaculaire du Pays de Limoges, architecture Belle Epoque, soit en granit soit en calcaire, architecture Art Déco, pavillonnaire 1930 de granit bleu, modernisme de l’après-guerre, architecture des années 50 et +, jusqu’à contemporaine et le devenir de la ville.

Go Top